End of School Year and Staff Changes

June 21, 2017

Dear Keatsway Families,

This month marks the end of our school year, as staff and students celebrate the learning, achievements and friendships that have grown over the past ten months. June always brings many changes…exciting transitions and fond farewells. We congratulate our wonderful grade six students and say farewell to them as they move on to grade 7 at various senior schools. We will miss their leadership and look forward to hearing about how they will help make a positive contribution in the world.

We say a fond farewell to many cherished educators, who are embarking on new opportunities for the fall. Ms. Mezo is off to Westmount School to share her love of teaching with a new community. Mrs. George has accepted a permanent EA position at Southridge School. Miss Strauss, Ms Stinson, and Mr. Tinning are looking forward to applying to positions that come up within our Board. Mr. Tiwari’s short stay at Keatsway is ending as he will be the full time Vice Principal at Centennial, next year. I would like to thank them for their commitment and dedication to the students at Keatsway and we wish them the best of luck in their future endeavours.

After 30+ years, Ms Shortt is retiring. Ms Shortt will be remembered for her kindness, empathy, hard work, dedication and passion for helping her students succeed! She has made a difference to so many students over the years. Ms Shortt has been legendary at Keatsway and she will be greatly missed. We wish her all the best with her retirement.

I have thoroughly enjoyed my 5½ years as the Principal of Keatsway School but my time here has come to an end as I have been appointed Principal at W.T. Townshend School. I will miss the Keatsway staff, students and families. Keatsway will always have a special spot in my heart as it has been my first school as Principal. Thank you for being a wonderful, engaged and supportive school community. Mrs. Penny Miller, currently an administrator at Franklin P.S., will be your new Principal at Keatsway.

I would like to say a huge thank you to the Keatsway parents who took on roles of the School Council Executive and Committee Chairs for 2016-2017.

Co-Chairs – Heidi Van Schaik and Cheryl de Koning

Treasurer – Jennifer McKinnon

Fundraising – Heidi Van Schaik

Secretary – Christine Valente

WRAPSC – Jennifer McKinnon

Home Reading – Cheryl de Koning, Sheila Vardy, Christine Valente, and Wendy Kennedy

Science Fair – Sheila Vardy and Betty Pries

ESNS and Milk – Wendy Kennedy

Thank you Keatsway families for a great years! Have a wonderful summer! The first day back to school will be Tuesday, September 5, 2017.

Mrs. L. Briscoe